Champagne-sur-Seine : a unique industrial legacy
M majestic building made of white burrstone, glass and steel, the electrical equipment factory stands proudly in the centre of Champagne-sur-Seine, between the river and railway.
Built in 1901 by Schneider, it was the last “industrial cathedral” designed by architect Paul Friesé. The modest village of Champagne-sur-Seine was transformed into a town totally organised by and for the factory.
Between 1901 and 1921, a whole new town, complete with housing, schools, shops and sports facilities (a stadium and velodrome), was built according to the plans of architect Edmond Delaire.
The various districts of the town illustrate the different types of working class housing in the twentieth century, including terraces, two-family houses, housing estates and council housing, offering a range of built heritage to explore.
At its peak, the factory employed 2800 people. Following a difficult period at the turn of this century, electric motor production resumed in Champagne-sur-Seine in 2009. The industrial adventure continues !