Visit the medieval city
To discover the medieval city,
follow the Historic Town Trail at leisure or book a Guided Tour.
Information at the Tourist Office Moret Seine& Loing, place de Samois
Phone: 01 60 70 41 66
See more about guided tours
Port of Call
9 spaces for pleasure boats and 2 spaces for passenger boats (water and electricity provided).
Open from 1st April to 31st October
Phone: 33 (0)1 60 72 81 70 and 33 (0)6 08 95 38 95
Discover the life of Alfred Sisley, (the Impressionist Painter) through his works.
24, rue Grande.
Information : 33 (0)1 60 70 39 99 or 33 (0)1 64 31 18 74
The Tourist Office also offers thematic Guided Tours on Impressionist Painting. See more about guided tours
Café Thalie Théâtre
The theatre has shows throughout the year.
Rue Georges Morangier
Bookings : 06 68 91 10 11
Sensitive Natural Area of Prairie Clemenceau
This vast wetland located along the river in Moret-sur-Loing faces the barn, former property of the family of "Tiger" G. Clemenceau. It is home to many protected species. Naturalistic outings are offered by Seine et Marne Environnement.
Grand Jardin swimming-pool
Currently being completely rebuilt
Route de Saint-Mammès
Medieval doors and ramparts - XIIth - XVth century.
At the end of the 12th century, Moret marked the border between the kingdom of France and Burgundy. Philippe Auguste makes Moret a stronghold and surrounds it with a belt of ramparts, flanked by 3 doors. In the West, the door of Samois (formerly of Paris), in the East, the door of of Burgundy, the door of Orleans having disappeared in the XIXth century.
The Burgundy Gate is open to the public during the Heritage Days.
Notre-Dame church: XIIth-XIIIth century
Considered as a major element of the Gothicarchitecture north of the Loire, it presents an apse without ambulatory and a choir inspired by Notre-Dame de Paris. It houses a Renaissance organ that is among the oldest in France.
Moret keep: XIIth-XIXth century
Seat of the seigneurial power of the king under Louis VI, this Norman type keep dominates the city. It was a residence appreciated by the first Capetians and later by Jacqueline de Bueil. In 1664, the Superintendent of Finance, Nicolas Fouquet, was imprisoned in the custody of D'Artagnan.
Open to the public during the Heritage Days
Town hall : 1910 - 1913.
Originally a grand mansion, it was transformed by the Parisian architect Paul-Joseph Clément, a neo-gothic lover, into a fifteenth-century private mansion pastiche. In 1948, the municipality acquires it to install the Town Hall.
Other must see includes The Raccolet house, the bridge of Moret and the Priory of Pont Loup.
Façade François 1er
This Renaissance gallery dating from 1527, known as "François I" is an architectural fantasy that we owe to Nicolas Chabouillé. It is decorated with carved motifs alternately representing flowers and scenes from the works of Hercules. Originally located on Rue Grande, it was bought by a cavalry colonel, dismantled and rebuilt in Paris and became the facade of a mansion intended for his mistress, the actress Miss Saint-Mars. In 1955 it returned to Moret, after a 133-year exile.
Town hall courtyard
The Barley Sugar Museum
The recipe for this candy enjoyed the world over was created in Moret-sur-Loing by Benedictine nuns in the 17th century.
The museum gives you a chance to discover and taste this speciality.
Musée du Sucre d'Orge
Moret Seine & Loing tourist office
Phone: 01 60 70 41 66
Entrée adulte : 2.00 €. Enfant - 10 ans : 1.00€.
Barley sugar shop
Place Royale - Tél. : 01 60 70 24 53
hiking trail « Batellerie et forêt»
9 km loop between Saint-Mammès and Moret-sur-Loing. Starting point and recommended parking: Grand Jardin car park, rte de St-Mammès - Circuit accessible on foot from the train stations of Moret and St-Mammès.
The Bicycle Museum
Set up within the ancient shops of the Prugnat Factory where the famous “bicycle clips” were manufactured, the Bicycle Museum concentrates on the history of the bicycle.
The Draisienne (the hobby-horse), the Michaux’s Penny-farthing, the Grand Bi (the front-wheel driven penny-farthing),
the “Hirondelle” and the numerous unusual collection pieces on show will make your visit an unforgettable trip into the past.
Site Prugnat, route de St-Mammès.
Tel : 33 (0)1 64 70 62 52
E-mail : email@example.com
Information at the Tourist Office.
The museum is open Tuesday to Friday from 1 p.m. to 7 p.m., Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Free admission. Guided tours for groups all year round and for individuals (programme available at the Tourist Office)
INFORMATION AND RESERVATIONS: MORET SEINE ET LOING TOURISM OFFICE
4 bis, place de Samois—77250 MORET SUR LOING Téléphone
Phone: 01 60 70 41 66
- Spring market (may)
- 1900 festival (september)
- Festival of lights (december)
- Heritage days
- Festival of humor